Loading... Please wait...

Image 1

Price: $16.00


Publisher: Musica Russica


Gift Wrapping:

Sorry but this item is currently unavailable.

Please check back at a later stage.

From My Youth St. John's Girls Octet (CD)

This CD is an important piece of Orthodox musical history in America, in that it features a number of arrangements and compositions by young American composers, sung in English. The St. John's Girls Octet, from Warren, Ohio, was well known for its appearances at churches throughout the eastern United States and, most notably, for its six-week journey through the Diocese of Alaska in the summer of 1973. While paying tribute to the youthful, missionary-minded spirit of St. John's Girls Octet, the newly released CD also aims to support the ongoing missionary work of the Orthodox Church in Alaska. A portion of the proceeds from the sale of this CD will be donated to St. Herman's Orthodox Seminary in Kodiak.

1. From My Youth: Valaam Chant

2. Bless the Lord              

3. Rejoice, O Virgin - Russian Greek Chant, Tone 4

4. Holy God      

5. Rejoice, O Isaish       

6. Joyous Light; Greek Chant      

7. O Blessed Father Herman of Alaska

8. Praise Ye the Name of the Lord: Znamenny Chant      

9. The Lord is My Shepherd        

10. My Soul Magnifies the Lord                 

11. Troparion to St Herman of Alaska: Carpatho-Rusyn Chant   

12. Augemented Litany              

13. Trisagion: Aleut Chant            

14. Hymn to the Theotokos: Byzantine Chant     

15. We Have Seen the True Light             

16. Blessed Be the Name of the Lord: Eskimo Chant        

17. Make a Joyful Noise               

18. Cherubic Hymn         

19. It Is Truly Meet;      

20. The Angel Cried        

21. Theotokos, Rejoice               

22. Our Father                  

23. Eis Polla Eti, Despota               

24. Many Years                

25. America, the Beautiful

Find Similar Products by Tag